National Statistics Office
Menu Header
Organisation Structure

Director General

The Director General is the head of the National Statistics Office and is invested with its legal representation. Article 9 of the Malta Statistics Authority Act 2000 makes provisions for this position.

NSO staff

The National Statistics Office (NSO) is structured in four directorates: Economic Statistics, Business Statistics, Social Statistics and Support Services. The first three directorates are responsible for translating the Office's mission into statistical output that is timely, impartial, of a high quality and that is responsive to the country's needs in all contexts. These are supported by the units within the Resources and Support Services Directorate. Two units fall under the direct responsibility of the Director General.

  Director General
01 Methodology and Research
02 Regional Statistics (located in Gozo)
  Directorate A:  Economic Statistics
A1 National Accounts
A2 Public Finance
A3 Balance of Payments
A4 International Trade and Transport Statistics
A5 Prices Statistics
  Directorate B:  Business Statistics
B1 Structural Business Statistics
B2 Short-term Statistics
B3 Agriculture and Environment Statistics
B4 Business Registers
  Directorate C:  Social Statistics
C1 Living Conditions and Culture Statistics
C2 Labour Market Statistics
C3 Population and Tourism Statistics
C4 Education and Information Society Statistics
  Directorate D:  Resources and Support Services
D1 Personnel and Budgetary Matters
D2 External Cooperation and Communication
D3 IT Systems

Organisation Chart for the National Statistics Office Eurostat eGovernment Survey Website Level A conformance icon, W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0 at time of deployment